+7 (343) 3720016 Пн - Пт 09:00 - 19:00 ул. Предельная 57, корп. 3, этаж 5, оф. 3507
№1 на Урале
Лучший поставщик в регионе
Заказать звонок

Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

СМВ Урал > Main > Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball Group Reflects Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The school’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of all Division I programs however to make a last 4, Xavier gets the most all-time tournament wins with 27. Xavier has emerged in the NCAA Championship 27 times, 15 times in the last 17 years. On March 11, 2018, Xavier made its first ever No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. Additionally, they’ve won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been listed one of the top-20 most precious college basketball programs in america.
The first Xavier Basketball game on album was February 20, 1920 at the Fenwick Club at Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94—52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year conduct as head trainer from 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success continued under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years since Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a record of 96—78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head coach rank fourth all time among Xavier head trainers. [5]
After the 1942—43 season, play was suspended for the following two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program declared under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a list of 3—16.
In 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Under Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was at the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) throughout the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national tournament for small colleges. Xavier finished in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University in the national third-place game, 58—59. 1948 was the only year Xavier appeared at the NAIA Tournament.
Back in 1951, Hirt was replaced as head coach by Ned Wulk. Wulk directed the Musketeers to National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 appearance marked Xavier’s first NIT triumph, an 84—80 success over Saint Louis.
After a loss to Bradley in the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach by Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back into some third straight NIT in 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier seized the NIT. That was the very first postseason championship won by any Ohio Division I school.
Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier to their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier fell to Morehead State in the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty was replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be accompanied by Don Ruberg (1963—67), George Krajack (1967—71), Dick Campbell (1971—73) and Tay Baker (1973—79).
In 1979, Xavier was among those charter members of the Midwestern City Conference (known as the MCC or Midwestern City 6, and currently known as the Horizon League), which also included Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That season also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, that gathered an 88—86 list during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: nroda.org

About the author

Leave a Reply