+7 (343) 3720016 Пн - Пт 09:00 - 19:00 ул. Предельная 57, корп. 3, этаж 5, оф. 3507
№1 на Урале
Лучший поставщик в регионе
Заказать звонок

List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams from the United States.

It determines the winner of Division I, the very best level of play in the NCAA, and the media frequently describes the winner because the national champion of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held yearly since 1939, and its own area grew from eight teams in the start to sixty-five teams from 2001; instead of 2011, sixty-eight teams take part in the championship. Teams may gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bidding from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of this tournament are known as the Final Four and are held in a different city every year, along with the championship match; Indianapolis, the city where the NCAA is established, will host the Final Four years until 2040. Each winning university receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made of wood.
The initial NCAA Tournament was coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural championship, defeating Ohio State 46—33 from the first championship game. Ahead of the 1941 tournament, control of this occasion was given to the NCAA. In the first years of the tournament, it had been considered less important compared to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams were able to compete in both events in precisely the same calendar year, and three of these who did so—Utah in 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) in 1950—won the NCAA Championship. The 1949—50 CCNY team won both championships (defeating Bradley in both finals), and is the only college basketball team to do this feat. [14] By the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the more prestigious of both events, and in 1971 that the NCAA barred universities out of playing other championships, like the NIT, when they were invited into the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 championship obtained by Louisville was the first men’s basketball national name to be vacated by the NCAA after the faculty and its trainer at the moment, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) was the most successful college in the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of these championships came during a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the successive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky has the second-most titles, together with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow five each. Virginia is the latest winner, having defeated Texas Tech in the closing of this 2019 tournament. One of head coaches, John Wooden is the one time pioneer with 10 championships; he coached UCLA during their period of succeeding in the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second one time with five titles.

Read more here: http://chonburi.csrcenter.org/?p=11069

About the author